Selco’s Questions And Guidance For SHTF

 

Bushbastard 3 class2-9.JPG

In SHTF, will you have this option?

Question #1, Can you survive for a few days with what you have on your person and with what you know?

Question #2. Do you have survival supplies and resources stashed in a place that cannot be accessed by anyone but you and maybe a trusted friend or family member?

Question #3. If you had to, could you take wild game with the concealed carry gun that you carry every day (you do carry it every day…. right)?

Question #4. What defines your ability to survive? Is it your accumulation of gear and supplies, your accumulated skills and training, or a combination of both?

Question #5. How long can you survive in the city or the woods without interacting with others, and where are you better off?

Common dress MDT Class 16-3-2-2

When SHTF (whatever that may be), which will you more than likely be dressed like?

Here’s some of Selco’s thoughts,

_____________________________________________________________

Full Circle…?

defense

I wrote my first survival article-comment some 7 years ago, and I still remember why I wrote it, what “pushed” me to sit down and write it so people who read/discuss survival over the internet for years can read my opinion.

I was checking the survival forums to learn something about wilderness survival because I found I missing lot of knowledge there, and then I stumbled upon discussion about what real SHTF looks like and will look like in the future.

And simply there I realize how whole survival movement foundation is messed up, or built on the wrong perception.

It is like digging through a whole bunch of other people good skills and opinions (together with wrong ones of course) but completely misplaced and misguided.

After writing that first article years ago, I am still writing and trying to point out my view of things, and my way is learned through the experience of 4 years of civil war in a destroyed society.

I still do not know lot of things, I do not know how to operate 20 different weapons, I am not ex special forces member, I do not know how to survive in prolonged period in wilderness, and I am still learning lot of things from different kind of people, on internet and forums and in physical courses too.

But I know how I survived SHTF and how real SHTF looks like, and the real problem is that it definitely does not look like majority of preppers imagine it.

Over time, a lot of my articles are telling the story about same thing on different ways, and it might look like I am telling same story over and over, but again, I am writing from real experience and there are good reasons why I am pointing out the same things often.

So please allow me to address again some common misconception about SHTF.

Changing From “Before to Now”

Starting problem about SHTF misconception is that people have problems to imagine something that they are not experienced in, so if you have not experienced collapse of society you will “build” your opinion about it based on many things: other people experiences, books, movies, documentaries…

When you add to this a whole survival industry of selling things for “doomsday” you going to end up forming your opinion about how life in collapse will look like based on some weird things, and as an result your prepping and expectation may be completely wrong.

For example, you have been bombarded with information from internet that if you buy some product you’ll be not only safe when SHTF but also you’ll thrive and you gonna have something like best time of your life in the middle of collapse.

Now when you multiply this with many numbers (products) you end up buying peace of mind for yourself built on fact that someone wants to earn money from your fears.

And it is not biggest problem, real problem waking up one morning in the collapse realizing that you have whole bunch of things that simply do not work for your situation.

I like to use example that I have read long time ago, about transportation in city when SHTF. One guy offer idea of using skateboard in urban SHTF as transport, and lot of other folks commented that is good idea.

On first look it is great idea, no fuel, no cars or buses, so skateboard as a transport means looks good.

Only problem here is that probably man who mentioned it never experienced real urban SHTF so he can not know how useless idea it is.

Or to put it really short:

When SHTF city services will collapse, street are pretty soon simply full of everything, there are other people in the city too, because services are gone there are not enough resources and because of that other people will simply almost always mean possible danger, so point is to avoid people, or to be quiet when moving, so…

You need to stop to think in terms of normal times, you need change your priorities when SHTF, it is a different time.

For example moving fastest (or most comfortable) stops to be priority, new priority is to move safest (or quiet) or you need to stop to think about having coolest things but new priority is to have things that will work for your situation best.

Value Of The Things

Again it is about thinking in new terms, in the terms when SHTF, and those terms are completely different then in normal times.

I have kind of survival philosophy where my goal is to be ready to survive with as least things as possible, and it is like everything else based on my experienced SHTF.

What that means?

By developing and learning skills and techniques I am trying to be less depended on physical things.

In reality that does not mean that when SHTF I will immediately  bug out to the wilderness with knife only, no, I too have preps and things, stashes and plans, weapons, meds etc.

It means when times come I am READY  to leave all of that, EVERYTHING – all my possessions, and move away in split second if that means I will save my life.

Are you ready for that?

Are you gonna be able to leave all your preps that you were buying for years, all your fancy weapons, stashes of cans etc and run with what you have on you?

Or you gonna die in “blaze of glory” defending simple physical things?

Survival is about resilience, to move on and on, to overcome difficult situations and come back again.

Do not get attached on physical things, no matter how expensive they are, or how fancy they are, or even if people promised that you’ll “survive and thrive” if you own that things when SHTF.

Life is precious, things are just things.

Problem here is that survival movement today is built on the way that preppers are “forced” to believe that they can not survive if the do not own particular survival product, so as an result there is gonna be bunch of preppers get shot because they defending physical things that someone told them they really need to have when SHTF.

I was refugee more then once, I still remember the moment when all my possessions were an old Browning pistol with three rounds, T- shirt, boots (with wet socks inside) and pants that could stand on its own because of how dirty they were…

I have lost all my other physical possessions, everything was torched or taken away, If I stayed my life would be taken away too in a very painful way.

I run, and survived, and fought again for survival.

And you know what? I bought all the things again.

Things can be obtained again, life can not.

Sometimes you just have to move on and forget on physical things that are dear to you.

Faith

One of the topics that I’m most reluctant to discuss about because I find it really personal, but it is there, it is important, so some things need to be considered.

And I’ll be short here, because it is personal for me, and every one of you should think about it for itself.

Yes, there were times when I simply had to reach deep in myself and connect to something higher, to find some sense, to have faith in order to not lost my mind or kill myself because everything was falling apart around me.

So faith is important, or spirituality, or some kind of moral values-call it as you like.

You need to have something!

But problem here is that people often think if they are good folks by the nature, everybody else is good by default (until proven otherwise?).

Through my experience I adopt opinion that everybody is bad until proven different (even if I am good guy)

Or let me put it like this, in really bad times, when everything going to s…t you ll see more bad folks then good folks, so be prepared for that…

____________________________________________________________________________________________

DSCN1536.JPG

Will you be fortunate enough to have some basic gear, and maybe even a dog who can help with camp security?

Selco mentions his experience of having everything taken from him, and only surviving with what he had on his person (pistol, t-shirt, pants, wet socks, boots). The reason for not having all your eggs in one basket is clearly illustrated here. This is an obvious reason for having a multiple “bucket cache” system in place in a number of areas that will be accessible in a time of need. A smock kit like the one illustrated in this post would also be awesome to have in a pinch.

100_0272.JPG

While a Kel Tec P3AT .380ACP pistol is a great little lightweight carry pistol, it’s abilities don’t really extend beyond self defense. Not much bigger, but definitely better than the P3AT for small game is the Kel Tec PF-9 9mm on the right.

The reason I asked about your ability with your concealed carry pistol is simple. Although a .32ACP or a .380 is as convenient as it gets in the concealed carry category, accuracy and range are two things they are not known for (the .380 PPK is the exception in my experience in the accuracy department). Except for my Kel Tec .380, I know all the pistols I carry will accurately take small game because I have done just that with them. While having an understanding that what you carry for self defense will take game is good, the primary purpose of your concealed carry pistol is to defend ones self, and the model and caliber you select should be picked primarily for that attribute.

Battery Post3

Great, you’ve got a battery of weapons for SHTF, but what if you can’t get back to them. If you have to take off, one long gun and two handguns is about the limit you’ll be able to carry.

What would be some of the bucket cache items you would want to secret away? Three things I can think of right off the bat would be traps some fishing gear, and a compact survival rifle like an AR-7. Those items along with a few types of fire starters, some freeze dried meals, a stainless steel canteen and cup set for collecting and purifying water, a few first aid supplies, and a good poncho and space/casualty blanket with some 550 cord and your bucket cache would make a huge difference in your survival if you only had the clothes on your back when you recovered it. Below is shown the Henry AR-7 .22LR Survival Rifle in it’s stored form on the left, and ready for use on the right.

100_0144-1100_0139-1

Conibear post3.jpg

The traps talked about in this post

MDT Basic Survival17-1.JPG

Yo-Yo “set and forget” fishing reel

MDT Basic Survival10.jpg

You can’t just have theoretical knowledge of survival skills and expect to survive in the wilds. You have to get out and practice them.

Deer hunting

There is no excuse to not get out and start learning and practicing some basic survival skills. The hunting and butchering of big and small game is a good place to start.

These are just some thoughts on what Selco had to say. Practice and preparation is what Survivalists do. If you don’t, you definitely can’t call yourself a Survivalist.

JCD

Leave a Reply

