AK Mods That Have Worked For Me

Re-Post from MDT

AK mods post22

My semi-auto AKMS with three rail barrel clamp and Tech Sight rear peep sight.

AK mods post16

AK mods post15

These two shots are as the rifle appears now.

I’ve been using AK’s for a long time. I shot my first AK (a “worn out” select fire AKMS) in 1989, and have been a fan ever since. Over the years I have owned a dozen or so AK’s in various versions, and have found them all to be reliable and “combat rifle” accurate (even that first AKMS in the mil was 3 MOA accurate). I have used various mods over the years, and after a conversation with a friend about the most recent mods, I decided to write a post about it.

AK mods post4

First up, the sights. I’ve used AK iron sights for years, and although I never had a problem hitting what I was shooting at, I always wished I had a rear peep like my Valmet M76 had. Well now you can have that option, and your accuracy should increase tremendously. I’ve been using Tech Sights on my AK’s since 2012, and can tell you that they cut my iron sight groups in half. They are durable, and there is no problem with return to zero after field stripping.

AK mods post8

Ak mods post10

Next up is optics (I didn’t perform any mods to the front sight, it works fine as is). Because I used a Tech Sight on the rear of my Romanian AKM, the standard AK side mount will not fit (sits too far back). I found this modular rail system from RS Products for side mount AKM’s that is very adaptable for situations like mine, and sits very low on the receiver. It’s return to zero is dead on, and the overall system is very robust.The top and bottom that I purchased was the AKR 1913 Pic. Rail and the AK-301M Front Biased Base. Using this mount with a no frills 4x scope (I originally mounted it on my first AKM in the early 90’s with a B-Square mount) the rifle shot 2 MOA, and I had one group that was 1.5 MOA.

AK mods post6

Adjusted all the way in

AK mods post7

Adjusted all the way out

AK mods post3

Here’s a pic of the guts of the folding mechanism.

I am a big fan of an adjustable length of pull when available. I am also a fan of folding stocks for compact storage or use in a vehicle. To that end I decided to get a Magpul Zhukov-S folder from AIM Surplus ( I buy a lot of firearms accessories from them). Here is a pretty good review of this stock and forearms assembly. and I put their field test below. All I can say is that it’s one of the most comfortable folding stocks I ever used (and I’ve use many different types), and it’s 4 position adjustment makes fitting the weapon to the person very easy.

Ak mods post9

This Handguard is the one you don’t have to modify your rifle for

If you noticed, I said I also purchased the Magpul AKM handguard, and you’re probably asking why I felt the need for this. It wasn’t about having a matching fore end and stock. It was about making that rifle capable of taking my DBAL IR laser, and my Surefire light, their accompanying pressure switches, and an angle grip. I like modularity from rifle to rifle, as much as is possible anyway. With the available rails made by Magpul, once again, it was a no brainer.

AK mods post12

I can switch my DBAL and light from my AR to the AKM and place them in the exact same location for familiarity of use.

Ak mods post11

Note the extreme difference in length of these two rifles when stocks are collapsed.

Two more items I have put on my AK’s The first is a charging handle extension, and the second is an M16A1 type flash suppressor. The charging handle extension really helped out with not only grasping the charging handle (bigger and more surface area, but as a “lefty”, having it slung across my back was a pain, because that small charging handle would stick me right in the spine. It negates the pain, but more importantly, it makes it easier to grasp, especially with gloves on. I ended up taking it off of the side folder because it inhibited me being able to charge the rifle with the stock folded, but it is still on the underfolder, and isn’t going anywhere (make sure you locktite the setscrew, or it will vibrate loose).

AK mods post1

As I already mentioned, I put an M16A1 type flash suppressor on the muzzle of both rifles. This was done for two reasons. First, the slant brake that they came with does not inhibit flash at all. Two, I can put a standard M16 blank adapter on those rifles and fire blanks out of them while conducting training.

AK mods post2

Note the ring on the cleaning rod. This is normally (took it off for the pic) lightly safety wired to the barrel. This mod makes grasping and pulling out the cleaning rod easier when the barrel is hot to clear an obstruction. It’s just and old grenade ring, but a heavy key ring would work.

AK mods post13

The AK rifles function fine with either the Red (rifle) or yellow (carbine) M16 blank adapters.

Last but not least, I wanted to review some mag and ammo carry options. I have found that the open top AR mag pouches will hold AK mags. The caveat is that the rear mag retention tab can catch if you don’t pull it straight up and out. Try it, or not, it’s an option. This is not my first choice, but it’s good to know it will work.

AK mods post20

Both types of pouch will hold standard AK steel mags, or Magpul polymer. These are both Condor pouches. Note the mag retention tab on the spine of the center mag.

One type that I have used for eight years now is the Condor pouches made to take multiple types of mags. These pouches will carry two M14 type mags, Three AR type mags, and two AK type mags. Retention is with velcro and a snap, but I have never had a problem with them retaining any mag placed in them.

AK mods post21

The last mag carrier I’ll discuss is the lowly chi-com three mag rig. I have used one of these for 27 years, and it’s still holding up. It will hold three AK 30’s (Magpuls won’t fit), or six AR 30’s. It is low profile, and is as simple as it gets.

AK mods post19

I only use one type of bandoleer to carry extra ammo for my AK’s, and that’s the old chi-com type. It will hold a basic load (210 rounds) on stripper clips, and is a Hell of a lot more durable than anything we have used in our military (of course it’s also slightly heavier). The far right pocket (as you’re looking at it from the front) will hold three stripper clips instead of two, so that’s how you get the 210 rounds in a ten pocket bandoleer.

Ak mods post18

AK mods post17

One advantage of the underfolder over a side folder with a scope, is that it will fit in my M60 barrel bag. Honestly, with the level of accuracy and comfort those mods give me on the side folder, it’s a fair trade off, and I’ll take it.

AK mods post23

Hope this discussion was helpful. Remember, these are my mods based on what I felt I needed and how I use my rifles. You mileage may vary.

JCD

Leave a Reply

